North Carolina Christmas, Andy Griffith, memories

I was just watching the Christmas episode from, I believe, the first season of the Andy Griffith show. The one where the husband gets locked up and crotchety Ben Weaver tries to make everyone miserable. Andy ends up arresting the mother and children and they all celebrate Christmas at the jail. Ben finally comes around and joins in the celebration. I can remember my father’s mom watching the original shows and smiling and my father and me watching just as intently and enjoying every minute. They are no longer with me, so it is good to have such memories. Frances Bavier, who played Aunt Bea, retired to Siler City, a small town southeast of Greensboro that was actually mentioned in the show.

Learn more about North Carolina Click here

Leave a Reply

