Susan Barringer Wells, A Game Called Salisbury

Apparently sales of the new book by Susan Barringer Wells, “A Game Called Salisbury” are exceeding expections. The softcover edition has outsold supplies and the hardcover will be available in January.

Now for the rest of the story. Not only is susan related to the Lyerly family murder victims of the book, it appears she is related to John Wells, signer of the Tryon Resolves in 1775 and may be related to several famous Barringers in North Carolina History. One was a general and the other discovered  gold. It is believed that her Wells ancestors came from Cambridge England which is not far from where HG Wells grew up. Makes you wonder.

To contact Susan or read more about the book, visit:

  http://www.buybooksontheweb.com/resource.aspx?id=3424

2 responses to “Susan Barringer Wells, A Game Called Salisbury

  1. This book demands attention. It is tough to
    put it down, once started get ready to read on. Facinating story, this page turner delivers not only a complex who dun it but
    also illustrates the power of the inflamatory press of the early 1900’s. There is much to learn here also, it is
    almost a cautionary tale….how and perhaps why we find ourselves in painful
    issues of race. The author writes with
    passion to tell her story…devoted to
    illuminating the humanity of the accused
    as well that of her murdered relatives.

  2. Oh Susan, WHAT A BOOK!!!!!! I have just read the last page and I will never forget this book [nor would I want to]. It is a book that every southerner should read – especially those of us who grew up in the segregated south. I wish I could get my hands on the social studies or history books that were used in the classrooms of the schools that I attended in Richmond Va and see if I missed something. The books seemed to say that after the Civil War ended the slaves were FREE and could live a good life – what more could they want? I asked my husband who attended schools here in Greensboro and he said the same thing – we were led to believe that all was well for the freed slaves! I do remember something about lynchings but not from the classroom and not much from any source. I guess that was the beginning of the “spin” of the press to bring us up believing that all should be forgiven and forgotten!
    The book was painful to read and so very real – I felt like I knew the people. I will never forget some of them! The ones who were lynched will be with me always. You did a wonderful job of making them unforgettable.
    I could go on and on but it is late and I just had to let you know that I did enjoy the book and I hope that it will make others aware of how we treated our african american brothers and sisters so that it will never happen again. You had the perfect ending for the book – the words and wisdom of Martin Luther King!
    Ann

Leave a Reply

