North Carolina, Andy Griffith, Mount Airy, NC life

The knowledge many people have of North Carolina comes from watching the “Andy Griffith Show” and that is not a bad thing. Andy Griffith grew up in Mount Airy North Carolina, a small town in the foothills of the mountains, northwest of Winston Salem. I also grew up in North Carolina and I must say, even though I grew up in a much larger city, I experienced life much as depicted by the show. It is believed by many that Andy based the mythical town of Mayberry on Mount Airy, and that is believable, but more probably Mayberry is a composite of many towns and a quality of life that existed then and to some extent now. That is one of the things I love about North Carolina, quality of life, real people and scenery everywhere. And speaking of Andy, a friend of mine’s grandmother grew up in Mount Airy and knew the Griffith family. My sister used to see him in Manteo from time to time. Do I sound too much like I am sitting next to Andy and Barney on the front porch debating walking to the drugstore for a bottle of pop. Well, guilty.

Learn more about North Carolina Click here

 

Leave a Reply

